I can’t catch a break

Or maybe I’m just not giving myself a break.

Yesterday, I fell at work. I tripped over something, I’m just not sure what. It might have been the dustpan, it might have been the pig, it might have been my own two fucking feet for all I know. I know that I narrowly missed the pig and landed on my right hip, with my feet on the dustpan. That little pig can run when he needs to save his life!

side note: the right hip is the one that still hurts from the great septic system debacle, which is the same hip that got smashed so hard it bruised bone at an arena gig one night, and the same hip that got all borked in a car accident right before I got clean. That motherfucker is sore today.

My hands are cramped and sore from all of that weeding and grass pulling last week. My fingers are covered in small cuts from fuck knows what (I’m going to guess weed pulling, since the cuts appeared right after that).

And I am covered in mosquito and chigger bites.

I wish I could just sit here and be a couch potato, but there is too much that needs to be done. I need to clean the bathroom, but that is just going to have to wait. I absolutely must pickle these turnips that I harvested late last week before the beets I bought go bad.

side note: the pickled turnip recipe is Armenian, and calls for beets to pickle with the turnips. Because I love Sunshine, I am trying to find ways to preserve some of the three rows of turnips his goofy ass planted (and hasn’t eaten) because he says he loves turnips. Next spring, when we go to plant the garden, if he hasn’t eaten some of the turnips stored in the storm cellar and all of the pickled ones, WE AIN’T PLANTING NO FUCKING TURNIPS.

I’ve got peas and beans to shell and freeze, tomatoes to can or give away, and zucchinis the size of baseball bats to do something with. I’ve got some backdoor fruit that I need to flash freeze. I’ve got laundry to do. I’ve got to make a run to the big box store in town and then go make a deposit at the bank.

I’ve got so much shit to do that I don’t know where to start so I’ll probably sit here all day making lists ad flowcharts to help me decide what to do first.

final note: here’s a picture of the strawberry vanilla jam I made last week, for your viewing pleasure

strawberry vanilla jam

4 thoughts on “I can’t catch a break

  1. “Or maybe Iโ€™m just not giving myself a break.” Yup – pretty much but I understand wanting to do it all! My canning season doesn’t start until next month, and I’m exhausted thinking about it. It is worth it though – our pantry is pretty bare right now, and I can’t wait to get it fattened back up. I love all the ideas you are giving me – I HATE turnips, but my husband loves them. Maybe I’ll like them pickled?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Man, Pinterest will find you a few dozen ways to preserve random weird things that only the husband likes. Prime example being the turnips. That asshole planted 3 rows of turnips and most of them have gone rubbery before he ate them, meaning I’ve harvested a bunch of compost ๐Ÿ˜ฃ. I’m going to try the pickled turnips, and if he doesn’t eat those then his ass aint planting no more turnips๐Ÿ˜‡

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

