Who knew?

I’ve been struggling to get flowers to grow around the edges of the vegetable garden to attract pollinators. I’ve planted seeds, sprouts, bulbs…. all to no avail.

However, the newest compost heap seems to get overrun with bees every time I dump a new supply of melons and fruits in it.

I would never have guessed it was that easy to attract pollinators to my garden.

final note: I wandered around the garden yesterday evening, and I’m seeing the effects of days without sufficient water. I’m going to have to get out there tomorrow and do some gardening to try and get the dead bits pruned out, and get some grass pulled up so it will quit choking my actual veggie plants to death. I’m going to need lots of sunscreen, a big floppy hat, and lots of water.

6 thoughts on “Who knew?

  1. I’ve found calendula (French Marigold) and cornflowers are the weediest and therefore easiest ones to plant, and also one called “Bee’s Friend” which the bees (not shockingly) go nuts over. The cornflowers and calendula reseed themselves each year so once they’re in, they’re in for good! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Has your part of Texas been esp. dry? Son who lives in Waco said it’s on the wet side there. He is not a gardener, though. We are not doing much preserving/canning anymore–too old. Our peas are just over. We are in western Va. not far from West Va. with above normal rainfall so far.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If we’re not in mild drought conditions, then we’re not far from it. We had some heavy rains this spring but it’s been fairly dry since then. Our pond is still mostly full but the local lake looks like it’s a couple feet below full pool.

      Like

Leave a Reply

