Creating something out of nothing

I had a small pile of zucchini to deal with a few days ago. I got it in my head that I was going to freeze some zucchini chips to enjoy when the zucchini isn’t happening in the garden.

My girl Tia found me all kinds of good recipes for eggplant chips and such, and I realized that the eggplant chip idea could be applied to zucchini. So I got it into my head that I would fry up some zucchini the way my dad used to fry squash (cornmeal battered, fried individually) that could then be frozen.

I had to figure out a way to make myself some countertop space, since my RV kitchen is most definitely lacking in that department. I stood here scratching my head spinning around in circles until I spied the solution.

My coffee table.

It has a lift top.

creating counter space

I took advantage of it, since Sunshine wasn’t here to bitch about me taking away his coffee table/footrest while he was watching netflix.

resting while making zucchini chips

After almost 9 hours of slicing, frying, draining, and freezing zucchini chips, I finally sat down to take a real break. My view was not one that would allow me to enjoy it, though, so I quickly got up and cleaned my mess while I waited for the last of the zucchini to freeze so I could package it and freeze it.

All told, I spent all fucking day making and preserving zucchini chips.

Simple living isn’t easy, but I wouldn’t trade it for anything. I just wish I had some help more often.

4 thoughts on “Creating something out of nothing

    1. I did have a zucchini the size of a baseball bat, and several oversized yellow squash. Thank heavens Mr b was with me and took them to cook for lunch. I’m dealing with cantaloupes today, flash freezing them until my canning supplies arrive so I can make vanilla cantaloupe jam

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

