Food Security

I spent my day yesterday picking and preserving blackberries, zucchini, yellow squash, cucumbers, snap peas, and broccoli.I was shocked at how large some of the zucchini had gotten in just a couple of days since the last time I walked through the garden.

big ass zucchini

For reference, that’s an 8″ chef’s knife and a pair of size 8 wolverine shoes.

Today is shaping up much the same. Mr B and I went out to the berry patch this morning and picked a few more pounds of blackberries. Several sections of the patch have played out and gone dormant, so I’m guessing the whole thing is probably about to wind down. I’m in the process of freezing today’s haul right now.

I also went out to the garden and found a couple more yellow squash that needed to be harvested, some more broccoli to cut, and more snap peas to bring in.

This afternoon, I will be attempting to make some baked snap pea crisps.

I’m also rapidly approaching the point where I must actually make an attempt at learning to can food. We are running out of space in the chest freezers, and some of this stuff can’t really be frozen anyway.

So, as I process and store the fruit and vegetables I gathered today, I will be researching canning for dummies so that I can get Sunshine to take me shopping for supplies. I’ll also be digging briars out of my hands and arms. Those fuckers are little, and look like scabs from old briar wounds. Well, until they rub against something and dig in a little further. I may never get my hands and arms wound free.

I guess it’s just more proof that simple living isn’t that easy.

8 thoughts on “Food Security

  1. Girl, put some therapeutic grade lavender oil on those briar wounds, it will heal them right up.

    And I’m curious if you decide on waterbath canning or pressure canning. I’ve done tons of waterbath, but haven’t ventured into pressure canning yet

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m going to have to learn both canning methods. My high acid stuff (tomatoes, jams, syrups) can be done with the hot water bath. I think I’m going to have to learn pressure canning for the green beans, green peas, and all that type stuff. I’m lost in a rabbit hole right now trying to figure out what supplies I need and where to order them from.

      And thanks for the tip. I’m pretty sure Mrs b has some lavender oil, and I know it will also help me stay relaxed as I struggle to keep up with all this food preservation with no help.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You can definitely pickle those cucumbers and zucchini! I like to make bread and butter pickles and lemon pickles (I’m not a fan of dill pickles), and I also make a ton of sweet relish each year. Ashley English does a great canning and preserving book that I would highly recommend (she also is a great blogger) – and her sweet relish recipe that I use religiously is also here: http://1smallkitchen.blogspot.com/2012/05/sweet-pickle-relish-and-therapy.html?m=1

    Liked by 1 person

      1. If you have more than you can take, which zucchini is very well known to do, and other human beings won’t take it (I don’t know anybody who wants it as everybody seems to have a source haha), ask anyone who has goats or donkeys or even ducks as most of them love that kind of treat. We are completely depending on that for when our zucchini get going later this summer, as we were told ducks love it on hot summer days 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! This is my first FULL garden. We had a small raised bed last fall with just a few plants. This is a completely different level of engagement with the garden and it’s exciting to me like I’m a little kid or something! Thanks for stopping by and reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

