It’s that time of year

It’s starting to get really hot here in Texas. The temperatures aren’t that bad, high 80s to mid 90s, but when the humidity is factored in….

It exhausts me.

Well, that’s not true.

I am exhausted by all of the labor. I’ve picked blackberries until I look like I fought in the zombie apocalypse. I have preserved those blackberries, all by myself. I have preserved cauliflower, broccoli, green onions, and squashes…mostly alone. I have planted parts of the garden alone. I have sliced and chopped fruit and dehydrated it…mostly alone. I also work my ass off at my job on Fridays and Sundays. That alone is enough to exhaust me. My COPD means that I have no stamina.

To do all of that shit in heat and humidity, with a chronic and progressive lung condition…and to do so much of it alone?

I’m tired. I’m tired on so many levels. My body aches, my mind is functioning slowly, and my spirit is sagging.

It’s that time of year.

I need a nap.

8 thoughts on “It’s that time of year

  1. I gotta say I don’t know how folks do it in the humid areas. I’m a ‘delicate flower’ in the heat as it is and well, a miserable bitch when it gets muggy…and I’m in Oregon where it’s nothing like it is over yonder.
    Blackberries…yum.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I tend to have my mom’s mindset of “this shit’s got to be done and it isn’t going to do itself’ and power through things. I’m neglecting to account for the fact that my mom had 3 children to raise and therefore really did kind of HAVE to do stuff; I’m also failing to account for the fact that mom didn’t have a chronic condition and therefore could get shook back easier in her 40s than I can in my 40s. I’m an idiot and I know it but I’m not sure how to stop being an idiot 😕 LOL

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

