Out of character

We went looking for exterior doors on Saturday. We went to the Habitat for Humanity ReStore in the northern part of the DFW Metroplex, because our budget is tight and the ReStore is all eco-friendly repurpose reuse recycle and shit.

We actually did find some doors we liked, but that’s not what I’m here to talk about today. The doors will get their own post as they came unfinished.

What I’m here to talk about is how I did something completely out of character for me. I found a couch. You might be thinking that finding a couch is a normal thing for any human to do when they have to buy a smaller couch to fit their new home, and you’d be correct. The “out of character” part lies in the couch I picked.

I’m a minimalist. I’m a minimalist almost to the point of brutalism. I like modern, minimal, clean lined things. I like all that Scandinavian modern stuff, I like mid-century modern stuff. I like modern, I like minimal.

However, the couch I picked is anything but modern and minimal. The couch I picked is the most ridiculous thing I can imagine. I shit you not–I picked a fucking ridiculous couch.

Without further ado, I give you the ridiculous couch.

ridiculous couch 2

ridiculous couch

Is this couch not the most ridiculous thing you’ve seen today? Perhaps it’s the most ridiculous thing you’ve seen ever. Except for maybe monkey butlers. I don’t think there’s anything truly more ridiculous than a monkey butler, because who wants a butler that throws poo?

The orange and gold striped cushions didn’t come with the couch. I didn’t want them anyway. I like how the back of the couch is so high, and tilted back a bit. I also like how the arms of the couch curve around a bit. That will help hold the ass cushions in place. It’s also a bit like the couch is reaching around to give you a hug. I’ll find some better back cushions for this couch–cushions that feel like marshmallow hugs or some shit.

final note: yes, it’s too early to be thinking about couches and shit when we don’t even have any walls built or anything. But it was the ReStore, and who knows if it would have been there when we DID get ready for a couch. Also? Yes, I know it needs some serious cleaning. I’ll get to that before we move it into the house.

8 thoughts on “Out of character

  1. Hahaha I know what you mean! Sofa shopping can bring many surprises! I have always been a fan of the kind you just photographed, actually (but even more wild – my first fancy sofa was dark blue velvet kinda regal like that), and never EVER thought I’d like something like a huge leather cushy sectional, but as soon as I sat in the one we ended up buying at City Liquidators (think TJ Maxx or The Rack for castoff furniture) I was madly in love. Of course now with my effed up back it’s no good for sinking in and I could use one more like yours, heh.

    Marshmallow hugs. I’m going to use that. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OOOOOHHH, big leather sectional….. I was thinking that would be what kind of couch we’d go with, one of those with the chaise/built-in ottoman on one side, but I got so stupidly in love with this one that Sunshine could tell I’d be crushed if we didn’t get it. And your first sofa sounds divine, I’m wanting deep blues and purples for my accent colors in our house.

    Like

  3. It does have good bones 🙂 Sunshine had to bid on some brickwork for an antiques dealer on the way home, and that guy said it was a really nice piece. It makes me feel better about my “out of character” choice that other people see something good in the ridiculous couch

    Like

Leave a Reply

