Learning new skills

Yesterday, I got disgusted by all of the food that was going bad on the plants in the garden, so I dragged my ass out there and harvested some cauliflower, broccoli, and green onions.

I crawled through the still muddy garden with my handy Chicago Cutlery all purpose knife and gathered up the broccoli and cauliflower first.

Then I had to consult the internet to find out exactly how to blanch something. Mr B happened by as I was trimming and rinsing the veggies and kindly offered up the use of some of his cajun cooking equipment.

He even stayed and helped with the actual blanching part, but had to jet off to an appointment and couldn’t stay to help me package it in containers.

ready for the freezer

As you can see, I don’t always spell correctly when I’m running short on spoons. It takes a lot of braining to make the words go, and when I’m struggling to breathe I just can’t be bothered.

After I got the broccoli and cauliflower put in the freezer, I went back to the garden and harvested green onions. Mr B told me not to pull the onions out of the ground yet so that they could grow a little bit bigger. The green tops will regrow, which means that there will be more green onions to harvest in the future. Apparently, Mr B really likes green onions. Good thing, because I harvested a bunch.

green onions

If I never see another green onion for the rest of my life, that’s perfectly fine with me. Because I’ve said that, my boss will probably have a new shipment of green onions waiting for me tomorrow. I cut green onions until my hand was bruised and my fingers were numb and didn’t even get halfway through this crate of green onions. Thank heaven Sunshine made it home from his clinic appointment in Oklahoma and offered to help me finish the task. We used our handy seal-a-meal thingamajigger and got the green onions put into the freezer next to the containers of broccoli and cauliflower.

I’m supposed to be on strike, but I could NOT let all that food go to waste in the garden. It would mean that all of the energy I put into helping Mr & Mrs B plant that shit would be a complete waste. It also would be contributing to the food waste problem we have in this country, and that is not OK with me.

In the end, I learned some new skills, and that’s always a good thing.

final note: Sunshine has already been forewarned that we are probably going to have to repeat the whole process for broccoli and cauliflower again on Saturday. There’s a lot of small to medium bits still on the plants that I don’t want to go to waste. Also, since Mr B is the one that like green onions so much, his ass can cut all those fuckers up next time they get harvested.

4 thoughts on “Learning new skills

Leave a Reply

