Spring rain

I woke up to thunder in the middle of the night last night. I was actually able to go back to sleep instead of obsessively checking the radar, which was a first for me since April of 2009 when we got hit by that surprise tornado in Shreveport.

side note: I think the meds the doctor gave me are starting to have some effect. She gave me an antidepressant that is also good with general anxiety. It takes about two weeks for it to reach peak effectiveness, but she told me I could start noticing improvements in a few days. She also gave me antibiotics and steroids for a sinus infection. I”m hoping that the steroids will speed up healing to my back and hip injury, and that they will clear up some of the psoriasis outbreaks I’ve been dealing with on my scalp.

It rained hard throughout the early morning hours, and it still hasn’t stopped yet. I had to venture out to the post office to send a card to my penpal in Australia and an inhaler to my penpal in need in Texas. This is what my road looked like when I headed out

headed out

and this is what it looked like when I headed back

headed back

It gave me some major anxiety headed out, because I was in Sunshine’s truck, and we really really really don’t want anything to happen to his truck. But then I remembered last spring, when Caddo Lake hit 180′ (which was historical flooding of epic proportions) and there were roads underwater all over the place around Uncertain, Karnack, and Jefferson. Sunshine’s truck easily made it through all of it, even the flooded bayou that was washing the asphalt road away as he drove through it. So I just slowed down and let the truck do its thing, which is pull itself down the road with almost no prodding from me. It’s always nerve-wracking to drive his truck under anything other than optimal dry, daylight conditions, but I did it.

I’ve been living here almost a full year, and I was traveling back and forth here for months before that. This was the first time I’ve seen our road under water. It was kind of surreal to see.

I don’t know why I was so surprised. For the last few years, Texas has been plagued by periods of drought broken up by what can only be described as “rain events” that are accompanied by extreme flash flooding. The evidence of it can still be seen in the piles of debris that have been removed from creeks, rivers, bayous, and ditches. These piles of debris were just left on the side of the waterway they were blocking, and are made up of giant bits of trees mixed in with smaller bits of trees. The banks of these waterways are tangled masses of exposed roots hanging in midair with no dirt above or below them; one wonders how on earth the trees don’t fall over. Giant gashes have been cut into the earth where waterways flooded and washed the banks away, pond dams have failed, and fields have become small rivers.

I think I’m going to sit back and relax on the couch. Even though the medications I’m taking do have me feeling a bit better, I can tell I’m not well yet. Sunshine is away picking up his employee after the Easter holiday, so I think Mollie and I will just snuggle up and stay warm and dry. Maybe we’ll engage in some Netflix binging while we’re at it.

One thought on “Spring rain

Leave a Reply

