Things are happening and I can’t keep up

Today is day one without the prescription meds for my back and hip pain. I’m doing ok so far, but I can already tell that I’m probably going to have to go back on some of them and it’s probably going to have to happen tonight through the entire weekend because it’s going to be brutal at work without them. I’m just glad I can finally think straight for a change, and I’m enjoying it while it lasts.

Sunshine has chosen today as THE day to clean out the dirty clothes hamper the back seat of his truck, which means that I am doing two loads of clothes today even though I did two fucking loads of clothes yesterday. Asshole. Now, I get to spend today doing stuffs when I really need to be spending it on the couch resting and healing before tomorrow’s marathon day at work. That’s some grade a fuckery right there, Sunshine.

Speaking of Sunshine, he and his employee (who shall hereafter be referred to as Biff) are out there at our build site helping the welder put the skeleton of our structure in place. I’m not sure it’s a great idea to have a master mason and a hodtender acting like they’re iron workers, but the master iron worker doesn’t seem to mind it.

After the steel skeleton is in place, Sunshine and Biff will be spending a few days getting the saferoom/closet built before they close in the exterior walls and roof.

I know it seems like shit is happening quickly now, and it probably is; but I also know that progress is about to grind to a halt while we pick fixtures and finishes (lights, flooring, appliances, and etcetera) because all that shit is going to cost a lot of money. I am not compromising on fixtures and finishes; it’s a small house, so it isn’t like I have 6 bathroom sinks and McMansion square feet of flooring to pay for. We’ve also got to investigate incinerating toilets, because I just can’t wrap my head around the whole composting toilet thing.

What I do know is that, pain or no pain, I am looking forward to the shopping trips to the restore and other repurposed/salvaged building supply stores to get as much of our stuff as we can, and big box stores for the rest. I am definitely more concerned with making sure my house is sturdy and safe than I am with the “lipstick and mascara”, but the lipstick and mascara is still fun.

Now, my happy ass is going to crank up the Netflix and try and rest this back and hip injury between loads of laundry and trips to the build site to supervise.

3 thoughts on “Things are happening and I can’t keep up

Leave a Reply

