To-Done lists

The property is a giant muckhole, with standing water everywhere. We have standing water in places where we have not yet seen standing water on this property, probably because all of that digging left us with giant mounds of dirt and clay that disrupt the natural flow of water across the fields. Our trenches are half-filled with dirt and the rest of the way filled with water.

side note: The muck has delayed our progress on our little house. It seems that constant delays and setbacks are the norm around here as we lurch from crisis to crises. The employee that helped repair the septic system out here? Had been brought up here to help prep the site for the foundation pour and to go with Sunshine to gather the other pile of foam blocks that will become our insulation. That got waylaid when Mr B dug up most of the non-wooded portions of the property to fix all the things. Now? The drive that runs through the property is impassable for large vehicles, which means that we won’t be able to call a concrete crew to come pour our foundation since the truck can’t access the site. Since we are headed into the rainy season, it’s not likely to dry up enough for a concrete truck to come through anytime soon.

I used Sunshine’s card to buy a boot scraper last week and the damned thing has worked overtime since. All of my boots need a good cleaning, my floors need a good cleaning, there’s a never-ending stream of dirty laundry that needs a good cleaning, the floors of my car need a good cleaning–hell, it all needs a good cleaning.

Then there’s that compound bow that Sunshine bought for me. It sits in a corner, mocking me. My dumbbells are in the same corner, and they mock me. My shoulder is slowly improving, incrementally; however, the human body parts are so interconnected that working that shoulder also works that side of my neck and I am left constantly fighting a muscle-tension-induced headache that approaches migraine proportions.

The to-do lists seem never-ending. It’s all very overwhelming, and I try not to think about it much. I’d probably cry if I did.

I was whining about this overwhelming, never-ending, constantly growing to-do list on the internet the other day in a certain discussion forum that will remain nameless. A wonderful young lady (who shall also remain nameless, because anonymity) commiserated with me, and then she suggested something that should have been obvious for me. She suggested that, instead of focusing on the to-do list that never gets shorter, I should make a done list at the end of each day so that I can focus on progress and accomplishments. This was brilliant, and it is something that worked a lot for me in early recovery in the form of gratitude lists and such.

Now, I am my mother’s child, and I love me a good to-do list. I’m also the kind of idiot that HAS to make to-do lists, because if I don’t write it down then it’s likely it is not going to happen. However, in honor of that wonderful young lady, I am also going to maintain some done lists.

Because today’s to-do list is so overwhelming, I am going to start the day by adding something to the done list. I want a curb-less, door-less shower with a linear drain; this means that the drain is going to have to be large enough to make sure the water gets out of the shower fast. Sunshine put 3″ drain pipe under the shower, which is good. However, all of the linear shower drains that I have found at the big-box building supply stores have 2″ drain outlets. Sunshine got creative and found an linear outdoor drain that has a 3″ outlet (designed for outdoor applications) that we are going to use in the shower. It has a textured grate on top for some non-slip-ness in the shower; and it’s grey, which matches the color scheme I have chosen for the bathroom. Having this piece of the plumbing puzzle means that Sunshine can build the forms that will be necessary for the concrete pour to make sure that the concrete slab under the shower has the appropriate slope for good drainage.

side note: I’m not gonna lie, he’s a little bit irritated with me for sticking to my guns on this whole curbless shower that is level with the rest of the bathroom floor. However, because he understands my logic (not wanting curbs and door tracks and etcetera to hold moisture and grow mold, and a trip-free experience for when we get old and don’t want to trip over a curb), he’s putting in the extra time to plan ahead to make sure I get my trip-hazard-free curbless shower. This is why I love him. It also means that I will be much more flexible about some of the other choices ahead of us, as a concession to my stubborn-ness on this one.

I’ve also been struggling with this new haircut. It desperately needs a flat-iron, which I don’t have. I went a little too short, if the truth is told. Thank heaven my hair grows fast as hell. My girl Tia is sending me her chi iron that she doesn’t use any more, which will help greatly. Until it arrives, my hair has been the bane of my existence, all big and wavy in all the wrong places. So, until the flat iron arrives, I’ve been hating my hair. I reached out to some experts on the internet and been given some suggestions, and I tried one of them this morning. Sea salt texturizing spray. I think it has tamed the volume enough to keep me from wanting to just cram a hat or wrap on my head, at least for now.

So, there’s two things I can add to the done list (the drain, and a solution for my stupid hair), and my day has barely begun. I’m going to call that some serious winning, and I’m going to go see if I can get tired of winning today, because the struggle has been very real for the last couple of weeks.

 

3 thoughts on “To-Done lists

    1. Yeah, the hair looked nice and straight last night, then I woke up to a hot mess. I decided it was as good a time as any to try the sea salt stuff. Hopefully it will help me control it until my chi iron arrives or this mess grows out some LOL

      Liked by 1 person

      1. In the same boat! I got frustrated with my hair falling into my eye everytime I put in the salve so I just chopped off my bangs and it’s not a good look. But I do love the salt spray!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

