Conundrum

It’s almost Thanksgiving. The stupid little Christmas signs in the local big-box store are counting down the days to Christmas in an attempt to instill a feeling of urgency in consumers so they buy more shit they don’t need with money they don’t have to impress people they don’t even fucking like anyway.

I digress…

I’ve generally put up a Christmas tree right after Thanksgiving. I just like the twinkle lights, so I like having the tree. I should probably install tricked-out lighting in our little house when we build so I don’t feel the compulsion to put up a tree, but then again, maybe I’d still want the silly tree anyway. Also? Being a former stagehand, I know just how expensive it would be to do the kind of tricked-out lighting that would make me happy in the pants, and that’s not sustainable even if it’s LED lighting.

I enjoy having Sunshine’s participation in decorating for the Christmas. He seems to only do it because it is something I want, which is sweet and makes him a keeper. However, this year, we are living in a county that has very limited doe days for the deer hunters, and they fall on Thanksgiving and the black friday weekend. Which means that Sunshine is NOT going to want to help me decorate the house for the Christmas.

So now I’m stuck. Do I insist he take time away from hunting to do something he only does because I want it? Do I delay my Christmas decorating frenzy? Or do I just do it alone?

This one isn’t even about Sunshine. This one is about how I want to force my will on Sunshine. That’s not fair. So I guess I’ll be spending the next few days in some deep thought trying to decide if I want to be a selfish, spoiled asshole that forces Sunshine to do what I think I want to do. Do I practice some spiritual principles and let him have his doe days?

These are the existential questions that keep me awake at night.

Just kidding, what keeps me awake at night is Sunshine’s fucking snoring.

Leave a Reply

