Dealing with the backlog

Because I’ve been so busy for the last two and a half weeks, shit hasn’t been getting done around here. It’s ugly, and it’s overwhelming, and I’m grateful that I understand it doesn’t have to be done all at once. I do the best I can, I prioritize, and I take satisfaction in the progress. The small victories matter.

Yesterday, we finally finished dealing with the last wild pig that Sunshine killed. We (and by “we” I mean Sunshine) smoked the jerky long enough to bring the internal temperature up to 165F or better to kill off any pathogens (this is wise for any and all meat, not just wild game); then it went into the dehydrator to finish the process. Once that was done, we used the seal-a-meal type machine to vacuum seal it into 3 ounce packages. Somehow, I managed to give myself muscle spasms during the vacuum-sealing process; probably because we were using Sunshine’s wobbly warped card table and it kept wobbling which made it hard to get the vacuum seal machine to function properly without serious core muscle use.

I’ve halfway gotten the laundry caught up, which is a miracle in and of itself. I swear, dirty clothes breed like fucking rabbits around here. I don’t know where all this shit comes from.

side note: that is a lie. I know exactly where a lot of the dirty laundry comes from. Sunshine hoards dirty shirts and bandanas in his truck. “I’m keeping those shirts there to put on when I get cold at work.” LIES. He puts on a warm shirt in the morning, goes to work, gets warm, takes off the shirt, throws it in the back seat, and leaves it there to put on when he gets cold, which never happens; the next time he goes to work, he grabs a clean shirt out of the closet, puts it on, goes to work, gets warm, takes it off, puts it in the back seat so that it’s there for him to put on when he gets cold. When he runs out of clean shirts in the house, he brings them all to me at once, which pisses me off because he almost always waits until I have just finished doing laundry to bring me an entire laundry basket overflowing with dirty sweatshirts that make at least a load and a half of laundry.

I’ve actually gotten just enough rest that I’ve felt up to starting some of my crochet projects for Christmas gifts, but I’ll post about that another day so that I can include pictures or something.

This morning, my focus has been on the cast iron cookware that we were recently given. Some of it looked fine, some of it had rusty spots. I consulted with Sunshine’s sister, who is an expert in most things homesteady or crunchy. She gave me instructions, and I’ve followed them, but I’m not experienced enough to know if I’m doing it right. I’m waiting on Mr B to show his face today; as a Cajun who can cook his ass off, he knows cast iron cookware and I’m hoping he can fill in the blanks for me since Sunshine’s sister is a teacher and it is a school day. Thus far, I’ve managed to spill a nice amount of cooking oil on my floor, which is probably going to come back and bite me in the ass in the form of a slip&fall later. I’ve also managed to wear myself out, because cast iron skillets are fucking heavy.

I don’t know that I’ll accomplish much else today, because I am already thinking about a nap and it isn’t even time for lunch yet. Which means that all of the other things on the to-do list are just going to have to stay on the to-do list. I just don’t have it in me today.

final note: Tomorrow, I have a doctor’s appointment to see about this sore throat and tightness in my chest, as well as the fatigue. It’s as good a time as any to start establishing a relationship with a primary care doctor in the area. Cedar pollen season is coming, after all.

 

Leave a Reply

