Sometimes I just don’t pay attention

Apparently, I’ve gotten really good at managing my seasonal allergies. It used to be that I’d just get so clogged up I could feel it settling into my chest, or I’d get to a point where I couldn’t stop sneezing; that was always my cue to get to the doctor.

Last week, my hammered shitness got the best of me and I wound up pretty much sitting on my ass all weekend, taking cough syrup and hoping that did the trick so that I didn’t have to go to the doctor and get steroids. Steroids give me insomnia and I hate insomnia.

Yesterday, I got to feeling like I might be on the upswing, so I went to my garden bed and tried planting some quinoa and spinach. I also planted some flowers on the fence line. I have no idea if any of it will actually grown, thrive, and produce food. I mean, our lettuce and kohrabi never sprouted and I don’t know why. At this point, I feel like I’m just throwing stuff at the wall to see what sticks. I’m still learning, and it’s a process. Hopefully, we’ll be eating some of our experiments this fall and winter.

Today, I’m still not 100%, but I’m definitely feeling better. I’m actually going to try and go to work. It’s Tuesday, which is generally a slow day. And there is a walk-in cooler I can go organize if it gets too hot for me.

Having COPD sucks, especially when I don’t pay attention and let some respiratory crud sneak up on me and knock me on my ass.

Note to self: pay attention to your health, dumbass.

 

Leave a Reply

