Weekly Progress Report-The Chicken Nugget Edition

Mr B brought the young chickens (a.k.a. the chicken nuggets) that my employer gave us and we got them inside their chicken house. I’m looking forward to getting them used to their new home so that we can let them out during the day and they can start eating bugs and fleas and ticks and mosquitoes and shit.

chicken nuggets

While he was here, Mr B also got his behemoth refrigerator off of the front porch of the pink house. (Don’t ask, it’s a long story and I’m not sure I understand it myself.)

My yellow crooked-neck squash and my zucchini have sprouted! Y’all just don’t understand how much I love fried squash. I also love fried okra, but will wait until next year to try growing okra. The only thing I love more than fried okra fried and squash is black eyed peas and cornbread, and the black eyed pea sprouts are getting bigger!

Sunshine has set up some wild game feeders and hunting stands and such in anticipation of the fast approaching deer season. I’m hopeful that some deer chili is in our future for this winter.

I’m starting to think ahead to the Christmas, trying to plan out what we are gong to be making for people. So many of Sunshine’s family really liked the gifts that I made for them last year, but now that leaves me scratching my head trying to figure out what to do for them this year. I’m also at a loss as to what to do for my family. I have some of them figured out, but my brother and my mom are the hardest ones to figure out.

side note: I know, it’s extremely early to be thinking about the Christmas, but I can’t help myself. I can’t stand last minute Christmas shopping. I do, however, enjoy last minute people watching.

It’s been another week where I’ve had to celebrate the small victories, because it doesn’t seem like we’ve done a lot. I do think that part of the point in moving out here to start living more intentionally and simply is because we want to have weeks where we don’t necessarily have to do a lot. I’ll take a week of small victories over an overwhelming week of busywork in a cubicle, it’s a much better way to live.

final note: Yesterday morning, Oklahoma had a 5.6 earthquake near Stillwater. I felt it rock the bus kinda hard. Hard enough that I heard the walls and furniture creaking. I probably felt it a bit more strongly in the magic bus than I would have a house; RVs are just giant vehicles with suspensions and shit that help them sway with wind and curves and potholes and such. Of course, an RV is designed to survive interstate highway speeds and potholes and curves and shit, so I am probably in a position to survive a little shaking.

As I typed this, it occurred to me that the pink house is not as well situated to resist shaking, so I got my happy ass up and walked the inside and outside of the house. There is at least one plumbing leak, several cracks in the stonework on the outside (some possibly but not necessarily expected, others definitely surprising), the hall floor feels off kilter/tilted now, I’m not sure if all these cracks in the sheet-rock were already there from leveling the house or if some are new., and the septic tank lid appears to have a crack in it. Sunshine is out of town, so I’m waiting to hear back from Mr B to get somebody up here who knows more than I do about this kind of shit. I’ll post an update on that once somebody more knowledgeable assesses the situation.

Leave a Reply

