Learning new things

I think it’s important to remain open to learning new things. I believe that you CAN teach an old dog new tricks. I like learning new things.

So I got it in my head last year that I might want to take up archery. Sunshine got me a bow and some arrows, but I haven’t done much with it since I got it. However, now that the weather is getting better (and we’re getting closer to moving and therefore having more time for stuff like this), I want to start doing the archery thing.

I’ve also been toying with the idea of learning to sew for quite some time. So a few weeks ago some friends gave me an old sewing machine. It’s an electric machine, portable, and built like a Sherman tank. I think it weighs as much as a Sherman tank. This afternoon, they’re coming over to hang out, have dinner, and teach me how to operate the machine so that I can start learning how to sew things.

Now, what in the hell I’m going to sew is beyond me. All the “learn to sew” tips and blog posts I’ve read say that it’s not a good idea to start out making clothes because they’re not wearable. We don’t have need of curtains, and we don’t have lots of chairs and couches that need pillows, and I do not like quilts…

So, I don’t know what the hell to make to get some practice. Maybe some cloth shopping totes?

Ultimately, I want to at least get good enough to at least do my own alterations, since pretty much nothing ever fits off the rack.

Leave a Reply

