the beginnings of efficiency

So we bought some stuffs at the hardware store today so that we can start making the magic bus more energy efficient. Stuffs like weatherstripping, and reflectix foil covered bubble wrap (which sounds a whole lot more fun than it really is), and a fire extinguisher. The fire extinguisher has nothing at all to do with efficiency and everything to do with safety. We had a fire extinguisher until the neighbors camper caught on fire and I grabbed our fire extinguisher to help save his RV. Oddly, our fire extinguisher still worked even though it was original to the magic bus (which was manufactured in 1999). But I digress… Sunshine applied the weatherstripping around our front door and then promptly left to go run errands, leaving me to wrestle with a 25′ long roll of 4′ wide foil-coated bubble wrap all by myself. Thanks, Sunshine. So here I am, wallering around in the floor (which isn’t very spacious, as this is an RV, after all) trying to measure and cut the foil-coated bubble wrap to fit our bedroom windows. It isn’t the prettiest thing to look at, but I don’t mind it all that much. We long ago pulled out the fabric blinds and side panel curtains that came with the magic bus and have art covering the windows instead. (Side note: the blinds and side panel curtains that came with the magic bus were dust magnets. I almost died when I removed them. Dust came poofing out in giant mushroom clouds with every slight bit of motion, which made it a very rough day for somebody with COPD and allergies.) Once I’ve got the bubble wrap insulation stuffed in the windows, we can rehang the artwork and the bubble wrap won’t be very visible at all, and for the very few windows that don’t have artwork as window coverings, I’ll figure something out to keep it from feeling too much like a spaceship. Although it might be cool as fuck to feel like I’m living in a spaceship… We’re hopeful that this accomplishes a couple of goals for us: 1) reduces our electricity use and B) makes it cooler in summer and warmer in winter inside the magic bus. I think we got the foil bubble wrap just in time, as it is predicted to be 106 degrees for several days straight beginning this weekend. Yes, you read that correctly. one fucking hundred and six damn degrees. Temperature. The heat index will be well in excess of 110, I’m sure. And we won’t have it as bad as Oklahoma is predicted to have it. They’re predicted to have high temperatures of 110 this weekend. I don’t know about the rest of the world, but I want my cold air to stay inside my house with me.

Leave a Reply

