Stuck at home

So my car is in the shop because Mollie broke the window, and I’m stuck at home.

Yes, you read that right. The dog broke the window. It’s a long story and I’m not going to bore you with it. It doesn’t matter much how or why the car is in the shop, I’m still stuck at home with no car. Sunshine’s jeep is out there if I NEED to go somewhere, but who wants to drive something that has no air conditioning when it’s over 100 degrees outside with a heat index of over 110? Not me.

So I started catching up on laundry with my handy laundry pod, which I love because it beats the hell out of schlepping out in this heat to take the clothes to the laundromat and saves a fuckton of quarters, too. To further reduce my environmental impact I use these soap nuts. Sunshine doesn’t get why I love my little laundry pod so much, but then again he isn’t the one that was having to schlepp the laundry out in this heat with COPD, so I don’t expect he’ll ever really understand the appeal of being able to do a formerly odious task (that took me outdoors in the heat) inside the comfort of my air conditioned home. He also doesn’t seem to notice the burnt rubber smell that the dryers here in our onsite laundromat leave on the clothes; I hate that fucking smell and will do whatever it takes to avoid having to use those dryers. So I use a solar clothes dryer (which is a fancy way to say clothesline).

I can’t catch up on all the laundry because I don’t have enough clothesline here. That will be one of the good things about moving to the middle of buttfuck nowhere–I can have lots more clothesline to get more laundry done at once. Here in this RV park we’re crammed in here like fucking sardines or something, so there’s only so much clothesline I can string up.

People around here think I’m weird what with my hatred of styrofoam and plastic shopping bags from big box stores. They really don’t understand my reusable shopping bags and stainless steel insulated tumbler and laundry pod and soap nuts and I suppose I shouldn’t be shocked at that. This is Texas, after all…the land of “drill baby drill” and big oil and big SUVs and all sorts of unsustainable shit. As for me and my house, we will keep on using reusable shopping bags and reusable coffee mugs and solar clothes dryers and laundry pods.

Now, let me go see if some of those clothes are dry, because in 100+ degree heat, it only takes about 3.2 seconds to line dry a teeshirt.

3 thoughts on “Stuck at home

Leave a Reply

